I am a novice at JavaScript an jQuery. I am writing a project and trying to incorporate $(this) to read a data attribute. Once the data attribute is determined and assigned to a variable, I intend to use that to access other form elements.

Instead of reading the data attribute as intended, clicking the button is submitting the form.

This is a code sample:

<fieldset class="new_inputs" id="new_inputs1">
    <label for="file_input_1">Input File:1</label>
    <input class="fileRenamingFormInput" name="file_input_1" id="file_input_1" type="text" value="">
    <br>
    <select class="fileRenamingFormSelect" name="destinationFile_1 id="destinationfile_1">...</select>
    <input class="fileRenamingFormFileOut" name="file_out_1" id="file_out_1" type="text" value="">
    <br>
    <textarea class="copyCommandBlock" name="copyCommandBlock1" id="copyCommandBlock1"></textarea>
    <button type="submit" class="btnGenerate" id="btnGenerate1" data-idx="1">Generate command</button>  <- Button Javascript might act on
    <button type="submit" class="btnCopy" id="btnCopy1" data-idx="1">Copy</button>
</fieldset>

<fieldset class="new_inputs" id="new_inputs2">
    <label for="file_input_2">Input File:2</label>
    <input class="fileRenamingFormInput" name="file_input_2" id="file_input_2" type="text" value="">
    <br>
    <select class="fileRenamingFormSelect" name="destinationFile_2 id="destinationfile_2">...</select>
    <input class="fileRenamingFormFileOut" name="file_out_2" id="file_out_2" type="text" value="">
    <br>
    <textarea class="copyCommandBlock" name="copyCommandBlock2" id="copyCommandBlock2"></textarea>
    <button type="submit" class="btnGenerate" id="btnGenerate2" data-idx="2">Generate command</button> <- Button Javascript might act on
    <button type="submit" class="btnCopy" id="btnCopy2" data-idx="2">Copy</button>
</fieldset>

This is the JavaScript

$("button.btnGenerate").click(function(e){
    e.preventDefault();
    var idx = $(this).data("idx");