The challenge I need to resolve is getting a sub-string from strings such as those below. Each line is of an array so I am iterating and working on one line at a time in a JavaScript loop. All of the strings have the names at the start of the line:

Joe Smith will run...
Jane Jones will follow...
Bridget Burns and Jack Jones will be away...
Jack Jones, Gracie Burns and George Burns have three days in...

The sub-string I need is the name(s) at the start of each string. My JavaScript is handling an example of the first or second line adequately by:

substr   = replace(/^(\w+ \w+ )(?:.*)/g,"$1").trim();

will output Joe Smith or Jane Jones respectively.

Is there a method to extract just the names, preferably as one variable?

I have some experience with regular expressions but not enough to reliably extract what I need from examples such as these.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

While it's easy for a human to pick out the names by context, it's not so easy for code. How can you determine where the names end and the rest of the sentece begins? What constitutes a name? Is a name always a first name and a last name where both are single words? Without knowing the parameters you won't be able to parse the names.

@Reverend Jim: I am pretty sure all of your questions are answered in the examples and what I wrote.

All of the strings have the names at the start of the line:

As for how the names will appear, that is in the examples as well. Two to three names, all with first and last only, no hyphenated surnames or first names. In cases of more than one name, separated by a comma; comma and conjunction 'and' if there are three names.

This is NLP or natual language processing. If I had to do this I'd head to http://compromise.cool/ and use the .people() function.

All of the strings have the names at the start of the line:

That may be the case but how do you know where the name(s) end. For example:

1. Joe Smith will be attending.