Hi guys, this is my first post on the forum and I am in need of some help. I am a PHP beginner and I have been trying to come up with a solution to my issue for a while now. I am trying to make a system where a user registers and after the submit button is pressed a welcome message is displayed on the screen along with a confirmation email. This is where I am struggling. I got my registeration system working however integrating this with the confirmation email is very difficult and I don't understand how to structure this at all. I would be very grateful is somebody could help me out. Thank you!

`<?php
include 'form.html.php';
require_once('SMTP.php');
require_once('PHPMailer.php');
require_once('Exception.php');
use \PHPMailer\PHPMailer\PHPMailer;
use \PHPMailer\PHPMailer\Exception;

//insert new user
if (isset($_GET['addform']))

{
    include '../admin/includes/db.inc.php';
    try
    {
        $sql = 'INSERT INTO author SET name = :name, email = :email, password = :password';
        $s = $pdo->prepare($sql);
        $s->bindvalue(':name', $_POST['name']);
        $s->bindvalue(':email', $_POST['email']);
        $s->bindvalue(':password', md5($_POST['password']. '')); //MY SALT IS MEANT TO BE WITHIN THE '' AT THE END
        $s->execute();
    }
    catch (PDOException $e)
    {
        $error = 'Error with registration.';
        include 'error.html.php';
        exit();
    }

$mail=new PHPMailer(true); // Passing `true` enables exceptions

try {
    //settings
    $mail->isSMTP(); // Set mailer to use SMTP
    $mail->Host='smtp.gmail.com';
    $mail->SMTPAuth=true; // Enable SMTP authentication
    $mail->Username=''; // SMTP username - MY DETAILS GO HERE 
    $mail->Password=''; // SMTP password - MY DETAILS GO HERE 
    $mail->SMTPSecure='ssl';
    $mail->Port=465;

$mail->setFrom(''); //MY DETAILS GO HERE  

//recipient
    $mail->addAddress('');     // Add a recipient //MY DETAILS GO HERE  

//content