Well i am running my site www.it101.uni.cc , i am planing of adding a php back end to this site...

I was thinking of making some simple and that works... in a Slackware type of way... so that you would be able to control everything with the help of a simple text editor (you can do that now... but it is not a simple as just changing a line or adding one... ) just putting the content in one file and the links in another ... and so on... so it would be easy to change a template (as it would be in one file) ... if you change a link it would change all around the site...

any suggestions would be appreciated... BTW I m thinking of GPLing the whole thing...so that others would be able to use :)

it would be a great way to get my php skills up.. and maybe learn some JS and so on...

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

Is the current site just HTML/CSS? It looks really good.

I've never written a full CMS before... I've written small miniture CMS type deals, for web apps, similar. What I usually do is just look into the (GPL) code of my favourite CMS's, and pick out what I like best and modify them for what I'm doing..

The main points I would believe is to keep in mind the following:

1) Create a modular core that stands in the middle, not right at the bottom. Most think the core of a CMS should be at the bottom of a pyramid.. they end up redesigning the core later. If you just think of it as in the center of a circle.. you'll be able to add say, a new database support such as mysqli withought too much redevelopment.

Example: redesign of Joomla's "database abstraction layer" to support mysqli. It seemed the core depended on the mysql class so everything up from there was dependent on it also.

Thsi would probably be the hardest to figure out.

2) Follow existing standards and use existing scripts. There are too many advantages to this!

Some resources for scripts and design concepts/standards:
Model-View-Controller - a way to think of the structure you're designing.