Hey, I'm running a mysql query, and would like to run a script if the query returns no results. But what do I use to test for no results?

Something like:

if (!$query) {

do this

}

But just not sure how to implement it. Little help?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

if(mysql_num_rows($result)==0){
  //do this
}
  //do this
}

Thanks, that was perfect.

//do this
}

OMG, you helped me so much!! I am new to php, and I was tearing my hair out. Thank you, Thankyou,! You are my hero!!!!! :)

Will this work for odbc_num_rows also. I tried but I get the same message no matter what

$sql="SELECT * FROM rac_master WHERE mrnumb='$mrnumb' AND racnumb='$racnumb' AND findetdate IS NULL";
   $resultx=odbc_exec($conna,$sql);
       if (odbc_num_rows($resultx)==0) {
           echo"Record Has Been Finalized";
           }
           odbc_close($conna);

Can't say for sure, but one way to find out would just be to test it. Echo that variable out and see what you get.

It returns "Record Has Been Finalized", even if the query statement is met. Does it matter what data type is being used in the table

It returns "Record Has Been Finalized", even if the query statement is met. Does it matter what data type is being used in the table

Wish I could help you here. I'm a novice at this stuff. Maybe someone more experienced will chime in.

Turns out the odbc_num_rows will always return -1 when using MSSQL. I changed my connecton to mssql_connect and mssql_num_rows . Every thing is working fine now.

Example:

$conn=mssql_connect('localhost','******','******');
 $msdb=mssql_select_db("DatabaseName",$conn);
 $sql="SELECT * FROM Table WHERE value='$variable' ";
 $result=mssql_query($sql,$conn);
         IF (mssql_num_rows($result)==0)  {
           echo"What ever";
           }
           mssql_close($conn);