Hi all ..

this jsp code when we use database access, to get the information by entering the price , my problem is that now iam using oracle as database and i dont know what are the changes that can be made here only ofcorse the path of database this i have , but string will it change because in oracle its varchar ? .. !! .. plz help.. its my first time to do this ..

<html>
<body>
<%@ page import="java.sql.*" %>
<%
Connection con = null;
Statement st;
ResultSet rs;
String sql = "";

int price;

price= Integer.parseInt(request.getParameter("price"));

sql = "SELECT * FROM itemTBL where price = "+ price;

try
{
Class.forName("sun.jdbc.odbc.JdbcOdbcDriver");
con = DriverManager.getConnection("jdbc:odbc:prodDSN");
st = con.createStatement();
rs = st.executeQuery(sql);
%>
<table border=2>
<%
while(rs.next())
{
%> <tr>
<td><%=rs.getString("prodno")%></td>
<td><%=rs.getString("prodname")%></td>
<td><%=rs.getString("price")%></td>
<td><%=rs.getString("ptype")%></td>
</tr>
<% } %>
</table>
<%
rs.close();
con.close();
}

catch(Exception ex)
{
out.print(ex.getMessage());
}
%>
</body>
</html>

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

No. The query and setString statements can remain the same. It is, however, not recommended to use scriptlets this way. The DB code should be moved out to a bean. Scriptlets, AFAIK, are only still supported for backwards compatability reasons.

You don't want to be backwards do you? ;-)

Thanks masijade :) ...

hehe no i dont want :P .. but this what they taught us in college !! ... basic things ..

however the most important thing is that the code doesnt fully change ... we have 4 weeks to finish the project :P ..

thanks again :)

tough luck. If they teach you to do it like that ask for your money back.

well jwenting im still in a level they dont teach us advanced things :) ..

they don't teach you the basics either the way they should.