Hello-

As a newbie Rails developer, I realize I should have a solid knowledge of SQL regardless of the wonderful abstraction Rails provides. That said, I'm trying to build my first app within the next couple of weeks, relying completely on those abstractions. A couple of questions......

Let's say I have two entities, Movie and Documentary, that I need to make tables/models for. Each of these has Actor(s) and I will make a table/model for that as well. So, in the Actors model can I include more than one ":belongs_to" statement, in this case one each for Movies and Documentaries?

Also, does the use of statements like ":has_many" and "belongs_to" completely eliminate the need to type in "join" instructions in SQL?

Thanks for your help.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Anybody???.........

Hello-

As a newbie Rails developer, I realize I should have a solid knowledge of SQL regardless of the wonderful abstraction Rails provides. That said, I'm trying to build my first app within the next couple of weeks, relying completely on those abstractions. A couple of questions......

Let's say I have two entities, Movie and Documentary, that I need to make tables/models for. Each of these has Actor(s) and I will make a table/model for that as well. So, in the Actors model can I include more than one ":belongs_to" statement, in this case one each for Movies and Documentaries?

Also, does the use of statements like ":has_many" and "belongs_to" completely eliminate the need to type in "join" instructions in SQL?

Thanks for your help.

You can add as many :has_many and :belongs_to statements to each model as you like.

Then you can access the associated like this:

#in controller
def view
  @actor = Actor.find(1)
end

#and in view.rhtml
<% @actor.movies.each do |m| %>
  <li><%= m.title %></li>
<% end %>