Hi, I am very new to CMake. In fact, I am trying this tutorial http://www.cmake.org/cmake-tutorial/. I do not understand some of the words prescribe there but I can manage. The problem I have with tutorials is the inclusion of TutorialConfig.h. I check the tutorial files and such file doesn't exist. Here are the tutorial files for each step: http://public.kitware.com/cgi-bin/viewcvs.cgi/CMake/Tests/Tutorial/. I am stuck at (step 1). I don't really understand the #include "TutorialConfig.h" but it ask me to write a "TutorialConfig.h.in" which contain definitions for major and minor version numbers. Including that file manually, my compiler spits out an error saying it is an unrecognized token. Does it really matter?

The main point I am tinkering with CMake is that I wanted to create a simple class "SimpleClassA" with a function that prints out "Hello World" and I wanted this to become a x-platform, IDE/Technology independent library. I want my SimpleClassA to have a respective .dll/.so. I have known on my research that .obj files generated during compilation are being passed onto the linker (which translates the .obj files to a .exe/.o or .dll/.so. Now if I could just get the .obj file of SimpleClassA and turn it to a .dll, that be great. I am using CMake to build couple of libraries like SFML, SFGUI etc. etc. I noticed that these libraries are x-platform and uses Cmake and decided maybe this is the path I need and decided I wanted to try similar effort.

Having said all this, I am stuck at Step 1. Any help will be appreciated.

So, from the link you gave, there are three files in there, and they are short enough that I'll simply post them here:

CMakeLists.txt:

cmake_minimum_required (VERSION 2.6)
project (Tutorial)

# The version number.
set (Tutorial_VERSION_MAJOR 1)
set (Tutorial_VERSION_MINOR 0)

# configure a header file to pass some of the CMake settings
# to the source code
configure_file (
  "${PROJECT_SOURCE_DIR}/TutorialConfig.h.in"