I'm a complete rookie with NetBeans, and that's unfortunate because this summer our Instructor wants us to use NetBeans throughout the entire course.

I'd just like to know... how do I add existing files to a project? I've tried right-clicking the project folders to see if there was some kind of add command. There were none, but then I simply tried creating a package to hold the projects and still no add project command. Not even in the File option or anywhere else.

It's not that I'm lazy and don't feel like finding the existing project/package in the source files, but I find it somewhat inconvenient to not be able to easily implement classes into one package or project in a Development Kit like NetBeans.

Is there any way to do what I'm asking, or am I SOL and must simply create a shortcut to the sourcefile folder where the projects and packages are located?

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

You want to add a library, or just source files to edit? If it is a library (.jar) or something, there should be an add external library option. But I think you want to add source files, you can just drag-drop or do it directly in the filesystem.

You want to add a library, or just source files to edit? If it is a library (.jar) or something, there should be an add external library option. But I think you want to add source files, you can just drag-drop or do it directly in the filesystem.

I created a package in my project manager and then tried opening a file to examine.

From there I tried clicking and holding the tab that had the class information and when i try to drop the file into the package it shows the NOT circle symbol. When I release the mouse, obviously nothing happens.

I found out that you can control the directory that the package is created in so I guess I'll try the second option and simply add the files directly to the package.