hi all;
i always find answers for my problems here at daniweb, but this is my first time i post a question, so have mercy on me :)

i have a jsp page and a huge scriptlet inside of it, the page adds new users to the application, so i just added a IF statement

<%
if(true)
{
System.err.println("done")
}else
{
System.err.println("not done")
}
%>

and it works just fine, but then i wanted to output a js alert so i did

<%
if(true)
{
System.err.println("done")
}else
{
System.err.println("not done")
%>
<script>
alert("error");
</script>
<%
}
%>

but the alert wont fire, and i don't even get any error as if the whole line is not there, so i thought maybe u could guide me to solve this issue.

thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Why dont u make this given code in js file?

hi there hako and thanks for replying,
why do u think it will work if i called the function from a js file??
i am wondering if the problem is that i cannot call a script tag through the execution of a scriptlet since the scritplet should be already executed on the server and the script tag will have to wait untill the page is called from the client???

i don't know...

The alert will not fire because it is in the else block. The if is true:

<%
// the if is always true. It will not go to the else and the alert which is inside the else will not execute
if (true) {

} else {
   %>
   <script>alert("error");</script>
   <%
}
%>

The if is always true, so the script that is inside the else will never be rendered to the page and will not execute.

don't EVER use scriptlets.
There's not been a need for them for at least a decade and they lead to essentially unreadable code.
Use JSTL instead.

The alert will not fire because it is in the else block. The if is true:

i am sorry for writing my example the wrong way, actually in th if statement i have a condition that is some times true and other times false.
and no matter what the condition value is, the scriptlet is ignoring the js script.