Hi!

Im new to MySQL RDMBS.

I know the basic CRUD if you know what i mean.

Create Read Update Delete.

I have 2 tables:

Category table and Product Table

Products should be categorized.

Product table has PK as an ID and FK to Category Table

How to INSERT INTO product table linking to specified Catageory Table?

How to SELECT products with same FK? as well as UPDATE and DROP?

Thanks in advance!

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

How to INSERT INTO product table linking to specified Category Table?

1. Make sure your category is in your category table
2. If it is, get it's ID
3. Insert your product with that category ID

add link field in table example link_id, in link_id field contain the id of FK or PK of other table you want to link to this table.

All table should have a link_id so its easy for you to manipulate data.

sorry for my bad english..

Depending on your html form you use to update. If you have a drop down with all the category names and ids you could just do a simple insert.

ex:

//assuming $_POST['category'] as the category ID

$query = "INSERT INTO products (prodName, categoryID) VALUES (
'{$_POST['prodName']}',
'{$_POST['category']}'
)";

//else
$query = "INSERT INTO products (prodName, categoryID) VALUES (
'{$_POST['prodName']}',
(SELECT ID from category WHERE catName = 'hello')
)";

something like that. note that you cannot delete a category item if it exists on the product table, you will have to delete the ones on the product table first.

Does this mean that I insert the FK ID only and query to them using WHERE clause? OK Then. Does this also mean that if I delete a category, it will also delete the product cascaded to it? Thank you!

Does this also mean that if I delete a category, it will also delete the product cascaded to it?

This behaviour can be defined in the table structure.

can you please further explain?

I mean what I am thinking is:

If I want to delete a category, I can simply use delete clause cant I?