Hello there all, I have a question. Why does medical research take up alot of computing power/processing power. For example the folding@home project by Stanford ? Another example being weather calculations or weather research. What exactly makes them take up so much power ? For example, I saw in a news clip that the army just bought alot of PS3's to simulate a human brain. Do all these 3 examples have different traits or something else ?

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Let me preface this by saying that I am not an expert in any of these fields but I have had some exposure to the underlying theory, so facts are AFAIK. Please pardon any textbookiness.

The least common denominator is they all involve the solution of simultaneous differential equations (depending on which model is used). Such work requires large scale matrix transformations, the size of the matrix being proportional to the degree of the equations. The more you can exploit granularity (that is how small of a piece can you parcel out to each individual processor and still be effective) the faster your calculations get done.

There are other specific factors for each case, for example the protein structure prediction involves a lot of combinatorics calculations to posit the pool of possible structures along the way. Weather predictions over long ranges of time require ever so small timesteps to maintain their accuracy. I haven't read anything about the army's project so I'll keep my assumptions on that to myself, but suffice it to say the more neurons you have in the simulation the greater the likelihood of approximating phenomena at the subcircuit level.

Phew, so I don't even want to go back and reread that. :) Hope this gives you some search terms that you can google.