As a beginner i am very thankful for the advice given by people who clearly know far more about the subject than myself.

I have answered some threads that i feel i understand (sometimes), but i regularly see "experts" answering the most basic of questions (including mine).

Are you people just genuinely good human beings?

Recommended Answers

All 37 Replies

Answering in the forums feels more like a hobby than anything else. I also get to learn new stuff

Most definitely we are. We do not get paid, spend more time here than what is good for us, yet we are here.;)

It boils down to the satisfaction I suppose, and for some, a building of a reputation which can be used to further your career.

commented: good answer +0

I feel it is a good way to repeat techniques that I learned in the past, so they will root even better deep down somewhere in my brain :D

so they will root even better deep down somewhere in my brain

Very true. There is no better teacher than repetition.:)

I do it because I like to solve problems, educate people and educate myself.

I tend to answer questions in the C# forum (with occasional trips to other languages). As of .NET 3.5 there are 11,417 different types. I can't even begin to think about how to learn anything about all those types, but by looking at what other people are doing I get more exposure to the framework. Figuring out what is causing their problem lets me learn a little more each time. Will I ever know the whole framework? I doubt it, but at least I'll have seen more of it, and in the future might use some of the knowledge I've gained :)

not to mention people here are super nice, even when answering basic "i see this question CONSTANTLY" types of posts. Not all forums have experts that are not only helpful but friendly, too. lol Maybe these people are genuinely just good human beings.