I am a fresh graduate of B.S. Information Technology. I am using VB.net in programming for almost 2 years now.
But I want to level up in a way that someone can hire me to be a real programmer.

My question is, how can I entitle my self as a Programmer? Do I need training or something?
Jobs available always requires a year or more exp. Only thos IT staff things are not always required to have an exp.
Not saying I won't grab that opportunity of a job, it's just that I want to be better.

Btw, I'm from Cavite, Philippines. :D

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

well one thing is, learning more than one PL i think..

Blantantly copied from another site:

Rather than trying to implement solutions to abstract problems, how about trying to write a real, useful program? Try to implement a chess program in the language of your choice, or write an app for a smartphone. The key to being able to program is to be able to break down large, complex problems into a whole bunch of little, approachable problems, and that's something you learn to be able to do by setting out to solve a large, complex problem, rather than a bitesized technical challenge.

I'm not very experienced but I have been doing exactly what jakedrake333 suggests for 2 years and it DOES work. Imust add that trying to make a program that is useful for your own job is also a way of keeping yourself motivated and engaged with the project.

Look for any jobs relating to what you have practiced and surround yourself with professionals. In this way you can learn more by asking and learning from them.

Don't pin yourself on one language.

like to play music on your pc? write your own mp3-player
don't create your gui's with an "look-I-can-write-code" editor like the one implemented in Netbeans, it'll stop you from actually learning how to write gui-code.
use external lib's (writing your own code is important, being able to re-use existing code at least as important)
write the logic and think how you can improve it all.