Hey all,

I'm not a mechanic and I know nothing of the topic. I am however looking to replace the legs on my computer desk with some electronic cylinders so that I can raise and lower the desk at the press of a button. The only issue is, I don't think it's a pneumatic cylinder that I'm looking for as their bore is quite small as is their stroke. They're also pretty bloody powerful and might launch the monitors in to the ceiling!

What is the name of the component I'm looking for? The description: a cylinder shaped device that extends in a single direction that can operate at the push of a button and can lift some weight (60-80kg would be ideal).

I think you get my drift... this is a small project I've been interested in screwing around with.

Thanks!
Michael

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Exactly this - though I'm after the name of the internal component. I built my desk myself and it's quite a large set-up. I can't find a ready made frame for this desk and would most likely need to make it myself. Plus it's more fun :D

Right I'm sorry the second link was perfect - looks awesome!

Generally speaking, the component you are looking for is called a "linear actuator". It is most commonly using pneumatics (compressed air) to get their power, as those shown in the second link by pritaeas. However, you have to understand that with such a system, you need a source of compressed air. In that link, the application revolves around a workbench in a shop, and in such shops, there is usually a source of compressed air available (for pneumatic tools and such). I imagine that the intent with that rig is to manually plug the pneumatic actuators to the source of compressed air (with a hose) whenever the guy wants to raise the workbench. If you wanted to use this in an office environment with no pre-existing source of compressed air, you would have to install one, such as these: