I joined a couple of days ago & one of the first things I tried to do was to post a blog entry.

And it mangled my formatting. All it was was some standard basic HTML - bold, italic, a few links, and so on. Nothing fancy, no scripting.

But it appears that the board doesn't understand it!

Everywhere I've gone to ask has a line at the top saying DO NOT POST SUPPORT QUESTIONS HERE.

So where /do/ I post support questions?

Such as, how do I post in HTML?

I have found a guide to some weird square-brackets based formatting markup language like I have never seen before. I am not at all inclined to learn yet another new markup language. I know HTML, I know Wiki markup as I'm a Wikipedia editor, and I generally use *plain* /old/ _ASCII_ email type emphasis, which Mozilla understands and renders, for example. I'll be buggered if I can learn yet another new one.

I don't want or need WYSIWYG text editors. This is supposed to be a place for techies, isn't it? So you make it easy for them, right? Like not compelling them to learn a new markup language?

So, in summary:
- Where do I go to ask questions *about using Daniweb?*

Such as:

- How do I post using HTML markup, which one support page suggests can be done?

&

- How do I turn off that irritating "Congratulations - you've made it" banner across the top?

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

Your on the right base for that!! (Feedback,support,etc .. SITE ISSUES)

Welcome to Daniweb mate :)

Happy new year!!

Welcome to DaniWeb... We are glad to have you!

Hello, welcome to the world of message boards!

As you have found out, DaniWeb doesn't support HTML tags. It's just a matter of preference, but almost all forums I visit disable HTML. It's used to prevent your HTML from messing up the rest of the page's formatting and Javascripts.

So instead you must use BBCode. They're often similar to HTML tags, except using [] instead of <>.

Sorry about the inconvenience, but it's a fact that most message boards have to accept.