Hi all!

I'm new to the forum so I figured I would introduce myself properly before the wave of questions begin ;)

A bit about myself:
My real name is Alex, 20 year olds, as of this very day 6 months very happily together with my girlfriend (had an AWESOME weekend to celebrate it :)) and I'm a coder to be.

On the last note, I'm learning myself C++. I'm very into Linux (running Fedora) and love the cross-platform part of the language and also the power it offers

I have also tried Java, C#, Delphi, VB, VB.net and Pascal but..
Java: Not to my liking plus it's to slow for what I want
C#: Was to my liking but I didn't know enough of the basics, I intend to learn this AFTER C++
Delphi: First language i bought a book for, first OOP language to... but never got anywhere with it
VB: Does to many things not to my liking plus it's WAY to MS-based and closed source
VB.net: Same as VB but with the addition that it does even more things not to my liking!
Pascal: Learned some parts of this at the same time as Delphi, also never got anywhere with it

So in short, I will be basing my questions around C++ (console for the moment)

As a way of learning while playing I have decided to make a little RPG (would love to make something like Castle of the Winds) so as I learn C++ (from "C++ for dummies 5th Edition") I will implement everything I learn into that game!

Short little helper as to my level of skill... I just learned how to create functions and use them accordingly ;)

Welcome to any form of suggestion and good night (here anyway) to everyone who reads this :)

(P.S. I have done my very best to keep grammar and punctuation at a proper level, it's not my own language so forgive any errors I may have made ;) )

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Welcome to DaniWeb.

>> I have done my very best to keep grammar and punctuation at a proper level