Hello. I'm lrh9, a new user. This is my first time visiting these forums. I've posted on www.programmingforums.org under the same user name.

I'm a hobbyist and amateur computer programmer. My primary languages are C++, a custom scripting language for Windows named AutoHotkey, and Python which I've just started out learning but am determined to learn. I learned some Visual Basic 6 - my first programming language -in high school, but I've forgotten most of it. I've also used programming features of graphing calculators to a small extent.

I think I'm naturally inclined to computer programming. When I was a child, I'd often assemble and disassemble objects to learn how they worked. Legos were one of my favorite toys for instance. It was a relatively easy transition from assembling and disassembling physical components to assembling and disassembling virtual components.

I was introduced to computing technologies when my mother bought me my first video gaming system, the Sega Genesis. It was only natural that when I encountered computer games, I wanted a computer. My grandmother purchased my first computer in the late 1990s, my second around 2005, and I assembled a computer using parts purchased with my own money this year.

My current interest in software development is general purpose artificial intelligence. I am an amateur a.i. researcher, with a focus in computer learning. After surveying approaches to artificial intelligence last year, I decided that I'd pursue the child machine hypothesis as it made the most sense to me and develop a general purpose artificially intelligent agent based on the hypothesis. The child machine hypothesis states that initial computer intelligences will not be created smart, but will learn and develop in a manner similar to the way human children do.