I have never used a hotspot before, but anticipate using one for homework or business purposes once my laptop is delivered. So in being proactive, what should I know about the ease or headache in using a hotspot (McDonalds, Starbucks, Libraries etc). Do they cost, do I need passwords, etc...

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

It all depends on the hotspot. Completely open hotspots (which seem to be the majority of them out there) tend to be relatively trouble-free, although you still might experience some connectivity issues if you're trying to connect from some distance away. Some are free, some are not. And strangely, some hotspots are more difficult to connect to with different operating systems. My success has varied, but most of the hotspots I use tend to have regular dropouts -- which is fine for web browsing, but impossible to use for any kind of downloading or real-time chats.

Some are not free, elaborate. How much are we talking, and do you pay once, or every time you connect using that "spot" ?

I went to starbucks the other day, and I noticed on the window "T-mobile hotspot". Does that mean T-mobile customers get it free, & everyone else pays, or is that just an advertisement saying t-mobile provided the hotspot?

Some are not free, elaborate. How much are we talking, and do you pay once, or every time you connect using that "spot" ?

I can't remember any specifics, but it's typical for hotspots to charge several dollars per hour of internet usage. And it's usually per-hour or per-day kind of spending, I've rarely seen a one-time signup fee.

I went to starbucks the other day, and I noticed on the window "T-mobile hotspot". Does that mean T-mobile customers get it free, & everyone else pays, or is that just an advertisement saying t-mobile provided the hotspot?