I'm a mid-level web developer (4 years of experience) with most of my programming background in PHP and MySQL. Recently I have gotten interested in C# to expand my knowledge and I have grown fond of it. but I'm encountering a problem in looking for an appropriate job that reflects my interests. In the job listings I frequent (Dice, Craigslist) there are no entry level openings at all for C# programming that don't need prior experience in it. That is, I want to know if there are places out there that would hire someone who has experience in other languages but want to break into the programming language that the company wants.

The way I have my resume set up, I state that I want to do back-end programming work. Most of my web development has been frontend stuff but I am much more interested in the backend logic of building websites and programs. I am already learning C# and working on personal projects, mostly with XNA which is a multimedia framework geared towards games. However, I feel like it's good enough to showcase my object oriented knowledge which a C# .NET job would require. Besides PHP, I also know how to code in C++ picking up the object-oriented knowledge I started out with PHP. If I code a few sample websites with .NET would it be enough to get noticed by companies?

So long story short, been working at several PHP-focused jobs, have competent object oriented skills, and want to transition into C# to get hired for C# web development work.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

First, beggers can't be choosers. You're not likely to end up doing what you're really interested in with an entry level job. The point of an entry level job is getting some practical experience, not landing your dream job. ;) Even if you want to do back-end stuff, it's smarter to leverage your front-end experience in getting that first C# job.