Hey all,

I'm currently studying at Glamorgan Uni in Wales and am about to start research on a paper about the Command Line Interface and it's use in the Modern OS. The lecturer mentioned that while talking about our specific award is the way to go, it would be useful to research other jobs / tasks to get a better feel of how important (or conversely, unimportant) the CLI is.

I'd like to get a broader perspective as to what questions I should be asking and what roles people still depend on it for. My initial plan of asking people in the street seems like it won't work unless i'm giving away cans of Lilt, and I tried calling local business to ask their IT guys and I suppose understandably so they had more pressing matters.

If you have a spare 5 minutes and could fill in this survey, i'd appreciate it!

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s/L6HNLPV

Recommended Answers

All 19 Replies

I've filled it out and yes a command line interface is still existant in today's society as for instance when controlling remote servers, it is impossible to set them up and configure them without a CLI. Even if you had something like remote desktop (which would require CLI to setup) then it would all be pixulated due to internet speed and would slow down the network. Also it is a lot simpler to program a command line interface than it is for a graphical user interface there by making the majority of CLI's more powerful than GUI's. This is like Unix vs Windows. Unix would win because since it can be tweaked and modified with its advanced CLI it can outperform the Windows CLI which can't be tweaked and set as efficiently due to the amount of code that would be required to make all of the tweaks there by making a CLI based operating system with a GUI plugin (eg Linux) a much better alternative.