I hope I can ask this here, but really I just want a watercooler discussion on the topic.
I am a hobbyist programmer, been using PHP/MySQL/Apache for years. I've use jQuery and strait Javascript as well. I do web design, have built websites both using frameworks like Wordpress, as well as completely custom sites from scratch. I've also worked in data migration, moving systems and data/services around, and building simple databases and PHP managers for the data.

Anyway, I am interested in web design/programming as a career (I do IT now), but not sure how to get my foot in the door. I know programming doesn't tend to require degrees or years of college time (I don't have a degree), but at the same time how do I get formal training in programming that is worth something to a business? Certificates are not looked upon as all that special, so what do I do, go find random PHP bootcamps to round out my skillset and knowledge?

I'm curious if you guys have some websites/links/schools/bootcamps/training programs or basically know of any decent way to improve my skillset that is worthy to a business and can land me a job. I'm not too interested in single-focuses, cubicle-based programming, but more informal, involved in the larger structure, design, planning, ideas, as well as the programming side of things. I don't want to be a cog in the wheel, but part of the engine and drivers seat.

Any thoughts and ideas are welcome. Thanks!

I'm assuming that you do not know neither Web Designing nor Web Development. Under these cirumstances, I will recommend you ** Learning Web Design: A Beginner's Guide to HTML, CSS, JavaScript, and Web Graphics by Jennifer Niederst Robbins **. Even if you are web designer I will recommend it to you. After that, you will, to learn PHP, have to read the book named ** Programming PHP
by Kevin Tatroe , Peter MacIntyre, Rasmus Lerdorf