I am a useing IMAC G5 with OS X. (tiger ). I do lot of vediography and also doing editing etc. I have now switched to mac from windows. I have collected lots of vcds and since this system is not able to make any vcds I wanted to convert all my vcds to dvd format. Can any one tell me how can i do that. I am not a professional. thanks. laxmi mathur

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello,

ffmpegX is an excellent shareware utility for converting many different formats of video. It should work well for you, and if you really like it, then you can register the product ($15).

I have tried to download ffmpegx but after downloading it says an error
please help

I have tried to download ffmpegx but after downloading it says an error

Please be more specific. Do you mean the error about missing codecs? As the website states, "in order to comply with applicable laws, these Unix open-source components are NOT distributed with ffmpegX." So you'll have to manually install them.

When installing ffmpegX, I usually first create a new folder in the Applications folder titled "ffmpegX". After downloading ffmpegX, I place the application in this folder.

Next, I download the mpeg2enc codec and the ffmpegX binaries. I then place mpeg2enc and the other 2 files resulting from the .zip in the ffmpegX folder I created earlier.

Finally, when ffmpegX is started, I need to press the "Locate" button for each codec and manually select the file in the file selection dialog. After entering my password in the box at the bottom, I hit "Install".

Hope this helps

I am a useing IMAC G5 with OS X. (tiger ). I do lot of vediography and also doing editing etc. I have now switched to mac from windows. I have collected lots of vcds and since this system is not able to make any vcds I wanted to convert all my vcds to dvd format. Can any one tell me how can i do that. I am not a professional. thanks. laxmi mathur