Hi Everyone!

I'm really looking forward to finding some answers here.

I'm trying to teach myself how to write HTML and CSS, and essentially, how to build a good website. I am a graphic designer, so I have little knowledge, but I am trying to better myself.

I am wondering, in order to make this all work... what program/software should I be using to built extraordinary websites, able to write HTML, CSS as well as put my designs in there too.

I also need to know how to go about having my own "server" "FTP", etc.

I pretty much am looking for someone to take the time and explain to me the ways of the trade! Once I have teh right software, and learn it, I'm confident I will be able to do this!

I look forward to a reply. Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hey canadian_sars,
If your a student you can get Expression Studio for free from dreamspark. Personally I like to use Expression Web in code view.
Otherwise you could try nvu, or any text editor, like notepad++. At this point its important to get stuck into the code (best way to learn is by doing).

As for learning the code you should check out w3schools. There are many sites out there with tutorials but this one stands out. Also, google is your friend :-D

As for hosting, you probably wont need it at the start but if you want I can give you more info and recommendations.

Good luck,

xavgal

Hi there!

Thank you for replying to my message so fast and with such helpful information!! You know, I was inspired to get into this just last night! I was up until 2am, trying to learn HTML coding, and creating some simple tags, elements, etc! (Exciting that I know some of the lingo!) It all started when my web developer told me he couldn't do what I wanted done on my website.. and well, I wasn't too happy! So I started out with Text Edit on my mac, and am fascinated, and only want to learn more.