Hey guys,

A website a friend of mine has developed is having a few issues with firefox compatability.
Ive have a look at it for him and cant seem to find a solution (although im far from a expert - hence why im coming here!)

basically he's used labels for layout of his PHP form. and this works fine in I.E / Chrome - however in FF the layout is really not what he is going for!

ive done some reasearch and have been led to belive it may be to do with the <br /> tags?

could someone please advise on what is causing this issue and a possible solution? the code in question is below and the active website can be viewed Here

<label>Title: </label> <input type="text" name="title"  value ='<?php echo $Title;?>'/> <br />
<label>Author: </label> <input type="text" name="author" value ='<?php echo $Author;?>'/><br />
<label>Published Date:</label> <input type="text" name="pdate" value ='<?php echo $PublishedDate;?>' /><br />
<label>Publisher Location:</label> <input type="text" name="loc" value ='<?php echo $Loc;?>'/><br />
<label> Publisher: </label><input type="text" name="publisher" value ='<?php echo $Publisher;?>' /><p>

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Can you take a snapshot of what the form is doing? I can't see the form on the webstie :)

The form isn't on the link that you provided. If the layout is broken in Firefox then your friend is using bad practices when designing. Firefox is the official browser of the W3C, and should always be the initial test browser.

There are several things wrong with the markup, but if you can get the form on the active site, or a test site, then I can give you a better solution.

Regards
Arkinder

Thanks for the info arkinder, we are both very new to this and any constructive criticism that you may have with any aspect of the code, will be welcomed by him.

an example can be seen below.

displays correctly in chrome and I.E as seenHERE

Whereas on the same machine with the same resolution it displays like This using FF.