i am new in flash..please help me in this code..

why is it that when i run this program it will proceed to else statement???
how coould i fix this???

thanx..

var dragArray:Array = [orangeduck, monkey, yoyo, car];

for(var i:int = 0; i < dragArray.length; i++){
		dragArray[i].buttonMode = true;
	    dragArray[i].addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_DOWN, item_onMouseDown);
	    dragArray[i].addEventListener(MouseEvent.MOUSE_UP, item_onMouseUp);
	}

function item_onMouseDown(event:MouseEvent):void {
	    var clip:MovieClip = MovieClip(event.currentTarget);
	    clip.startDrag();
	}
	function item_onMouseUp(event:MouseEvent):void {
	    var clip:MovieClip = MovieClip(event.currentTarget);
	    clip.stopDrag();
		if (i==1)
		{
			gotoAndStop(3);

}
		if(i==2)
		{
			gotoAndStop(currentFrame+2);

}
		if(i==3){
			gotoAndStop(currentFrame+3);

}
		else{

gotoAndStop(currentFrame+4);

}
	}

From what I can see, the variable 'i' shouldn't be in scope in your item_onmouseup function because it is declared as a local variable in the for loop in the main bit of AS code in your keyframe. So you should really be getting some kind of error about an undeclared variable in your event handler function, because 'i' should really only be visible/in scope inside the for loop!

However, if the variable is visible/in scope in your event listener (which it really shouldn't be); the reason it's always going to the else statement should be obvious. Take a look how you're using 'i' in your loop:

In the main bit of actionscript on the keyframe, 'i' is declared in your for loop and is used to index the Movieclip objects in your array, where you add the event listeners and set the button-mode for each.

So 'i' starts at 0 (first object in the array). Because 0 is less than the break condition (i < array.length, where array.length would be 4). The body of the loop is entered, the 1st Movieclip's button state is set and has event listeners added.