Hi,
I'm a student who likes to tinker with my computer. I'm at a different location that has DSL on a desktop computer. I'd like to use it on my laptop. Would an LAN card do this? How do I go about installing it or whatever I need to do?

I was thinking that I get the card, plug it in to my USB or something like that and I'm not sure where the other end goes and then plug the phone line in as normal? Or do I need a router? We already have one hooked up.. Can you tell I'm confused? :rolleyes:

Thanks!!,
Megan

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

If you want to have both computers hooked up at the same time then you need a router. Otherwise you can just unplug the ethernet cable out of the desktop computer and put it into your laptop (providing you have an ethernet port in your laptop.)

If you want to have both computers hooked up at the same time then you need a router. Otherwise you can just unplug the ethernet cable out of the desktop computer and put it into your laptop (providing you have an ethernet port in your laptop.)

Okay, so if I got a router, saying that the other router is hooked up and has a ethernet cable plugged into the desktop & the phone, how do I hook up a new router to the laptop? Would I need another ethernet cable or would it just pick up a signal automatically? I want the easiest thing LOL! :)

Ok, first things first, there are several different kinds of routers. But, for your dsl setup, most companies give you what is called a dsl modem. This basic setup would look something like this:

You phone jack in the wall has a phone cable running to the dsl modem. Out of the modem comes an ethernet cable. You probably have that ethernet cable plugged into your main computer.