Hello,

I had a problem awhile back with the About:blank virus. I managed to finally rid myself of the bug. However, in the process I must have done something to my system. Whenever I try to play video, enter certain websites or run certain programs, my system goes wacky on me. My screen goes blank (black) intermittently and sometimes completely freezes up. I then have to reboot and avoid those programs.

I'm considering cleaning my HD and re-installing Windows, but I know its a big process and I've never done it before. Unfortunatlely, it's been awhile since the time I first started seeing this problem, so I can't pinpoint what I might have done to cause it. Can anyone identify what my problem might be, so I can avoid this lengthy solution?

Graciously,
H2OFIELD

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

Scanning in Spybot Search and Destroy:

1. Downloaded and Install Spybot S&D, accepting the Default Settings

2. In the Menu Bar at the top of the Spybot window you will see 'Mode'. Make certain that 'default mode' has a check mark beside it.

3. Close ALL windows except Spybot S&D

4. Click the button to ‘Search for Updates’ then download and install the Updates.

5. Next click the button ‘Check for Problems’

6. When Spybot is complete, it will be showing ‘RED’ entries bold 'Black' entries and ‘GREEN’ entries in the window

7. Make certain there is a check mark beside all of the RED entries ONLY.

8. Choose ‘Fix Selected Problems’ and allow Spybot to fix the RED entries.

9.REBOOT to complete the scan and clear memory.

Finally if you are going to run both Spybot SD and Ad-Aware SE, leave the rescan with HijackThis until you have completed running both tools. If only running Spybot SD then RESCAN with HijackThis and POST your logfile in the same thread using ‘Add Reply’. Please do not attempt to fix anything in HijackThis yourself!

Scanning With Ad-Aware SE :