Hi, I'm running Windows 7.64, with an English language systeem. I use Chinese and Japanase input. But suddenly Korean appears as the language when I log in to the system when awakening from sleep, and it's unremovable from the language bar. All the other languages can be "Removed", but Korean cannot (see attachment - where 'remove' is greyed out). Since it's appearing before the login, I suspect it's a rootkit?
I'm not a programmer, but am good at following isntructions. I thought my virus protection was pretty good but found out recently it is quite poor: I'm using Symantec Endpoint Protection as a background, and then manually scan any new files I download with MBAM. But after a big crash a few months back I scanned the laptop drive on a Linux Redhat (?), and it removed 50+ viruses. So I know my security's not great, despite these measures. I'm an unpaid graduate student, so can't afford expensive virus protection.
I think I've got something again, and am unsure how to go about getting it out, and worried it's tracking keystrokes or something. I've attached a Hijack this scan as a zip file.
Thanks for your help!

Korean.Language_

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello, Michael, the fact that when you highlight Korean in the Text Sevices window the Add button is available rather indicates that the system thinks Korean in not already enabled.
Your point about costs.... just because something is free doesn't mean it is not valuable and worthwhile. Most of us here use the free AV services; I use the free Avast. Hasn't failed me once.
Your Symantec Endpoint is a full AV+AS service, it will scan everything that comes in and goes out of your system, and everything that starts or is called, automatically. [It would mark files as safe so as not to scan them again needlessly, the mark is removed if they are altered].