I'm desperate for some help.

I removed spyware trojans, etc, I've seen similar solutions and problems everwhere but can't seem to fix mine. PLEASE help.

My background is either white or grey. It hides my desktop background picture.

It is temporarily visible when starting up/shutting down.

If I mess with the high contrast settings(I've been messing with everything trying to fix it) it gives me Cannot Find file:///C:/WINDOWS/WEB/desktop.html

Here's the thing thats throwing me off. Everyone says go to the desktop tab. And uncheck yadda yada...well...I either really can't find my desktop tab(wich I've looked everywhere and followed instructions as to where it should be) or I do not have one.

So....what do I do?

Recommended Answers

All 22 Replies

that file... you've had your desktop hijacked. To see some of these files you have to disabvle view protections for them.... but no matter, cos in this case i think..think...that if you rclick in a clear spot on your desktop, go properties > desktop > customise desktop >web and then delete any entries there, you should then be clear of your problem. Pls come back if this solves it. or doesn't.. :)

..to see those hidden 7/or protected files go control panel > folder options > view and select Show hidden files and folders, and uncheck Hide protected operating system files.... Yes, apply, and outta there. But i advise you to NOT leave the latter exposed - system mayhem lies down that road, so once sorted go back in and RE-HIDE those prot. op sys files.
That file u mentioned is the problem.... you can safely delete it...

I don't have "folder options" in control panel. I have appearance/themes, network/internet, add/remove programs,sound/speech/audio, performace/maintinence, printer, user accounts, date/regional time, accessibility options, and security

yeah....no desktop tab after properties =[