Hi
I am an ex C++ programmer and still have Win98 I have been having a problem for about a year with what I suspect maybe spyware. This file usually appears in the root drive and also sometimes in the windows directory. If I do not detect the file right away then it appears on my desktop. the file is a dos based file and has the file name ~. I took a few code snipplets out of the file and did a search in google on them and it seems that they may be from a foreign Country. It seems like it is keeping a record of all my emails. Attached in a word document is the code for the file. I have tried several spyware/virus programs but they do not pickup on it. Thanks for your help. Dan

I'm sorry, Dan, but I for one just do not have the time to scan a file like that. And Windows 98 is way before my time......
Dan, grab these:
Unlocker 1.8.5
==This one is a general purpose deleter, Unlocker 1.8.5: http://filehippo.com/download_unlocker/
Dclick the exe to install it, unchecking the updater and assistant boxes. It runs from the rclick context menu, and that is cool.
CCleaner:
==Get CCleaner from http://www.ccleaner.com/ - and put it in a new folder. You should aim to keep this one for general use. I set it from the installation checkboxes to only open from the recycle bin. It's neater that way.
Now run CCleaner from the recycle bin rclick menu using its default settings [if you set up CCleaner as i suggested, rclicking the bin icon should give you the Open CCleaner option...]. Select the Cleaner icon, press Run Cleaner.