Hi everyone, I am studying graphics programming using Direct3D in windows............To write a Direct3D program on windows..........I use the native Win32 API.........which includes all the datatypes, functions and other operations for the Windows OS & its windowing system..........

I wanna learn OpenGL so that i can develop graphics programming on Linux...........If i use the Win32 API with Direct3D on windows...........then what API i have to use to program on Linux with OpenGL?.............I know Linux uses the X window system.........does the X window system have an API that i can use with OpenGL?.............

Another small ques:-

Everyone know abt id games.....Quake,Doom.........I know that Quake 3 is based on OpenGL & runs on Linux.........I already downloaded the Quake 3 source from id software's website........I unzipped it & contains a ocean of code.........I'm just an intermediate programmer..........I u know.........plz tell me where is the core engine code of Quake 3...........So i can just get a feel for it..........

Advance thanks for ur help...............

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

>does the X window system have an API that i can use with OpenGL?
OpenGL has its own API that you can use (and is completely cross-platform). There are also APIs that abstract the OpenGL API further (e.g. SDL), so you're not actually making direct calls to OpenGL.

It's also worth noting that most modern distros don't include their own implementation of OpenGL, so instead, you have to use Mesa, which is an open source implementation of the OpenGL specifications.

>does the X window system have an API that i can use with OpenGL?
OpenGL has its own API that you can use (and is completely cross-platform). There are also APIs that abstract the OpenGL API further (e.g. SDL), so you're not actually making direct calls to OpenGL.