I am new to using linux on my own machines, but i have seen it in use before and i know a small bit as ive been reading up on it quite a lot. I downloaded mandrake linux 10.1 community to put on my computer and i previously made two extra partitions at the end of my drive for linux. A 2 gig swap and a 12 gig ext3. After downloading the iso's i used nero 6 to make bootable cd's with them and it starts loading off the screen with a bunch of dos prompts saying usb loaded cdrom loaded sound card loaded etc, but then it stops with a floppy disk prompt [A:/] i tried burnig it so many ways and no avail. I also tried using SuSE and i had the exact same problem! Am i burning the iso's wrong or is there something else i need to configure or do? Im really anxious to get a chance to play on my computer because i dont have to work this week :lol: Thanks in advance, nizzy

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

.., but then it stops with a floppy disk prompt [A:/]

Are you seeing a message regarding "additional drivers" floppy?

the screens go fast but ill try and post everything i can see here i stick the boot cd in and it goes to load it up....
it says dc rom ok usb stuff ok
(the Drive lables are wrong and my 2 linux partitions are not showing up...)

Partition C:\ installed
Partition D:\ installed
Partition E:\ installed
Partition F:\ installed

search for usb hdd devices...

usb support successfully initialized
NWCDEX.EXE Version 2.81 CD-ROM file handler.
Copyright(c) 1992, 1997 Caldera Inc. All rights reserved
Drive G: Driver 'MSCD001' unit 0
Drive H: Driver 'MSCD001' unit 1
completed codepage prepare funcion
completed codepage select function
NLSFUNC R4.00 National Language Support
Copyright(c) 1988,1998 Caldera, Inc

Caldera DR-DOS 7.03
Copyright(c) 1976, 1998 Caldera, Inc. All rights reserved
[DR-DOS] A:\>

This is what is see except there was more initializing and sucess of cd roms and stuff in the beginning