Hi, I am new to Linux and I have a wee problem i think this forum can help me with -

I have a script that uploads a users profile image successfully to a folder and successfully storing the image path to a mysql database.

The problem im having is when that user logs in, he / she is unable to view their profile image ??

I have been wrecking my head to why this is happening.

I have a dedicated server running CENTOS v5 Linux -

The above script works great when local via wampp -

through my script i an using mkdir("uploaded/$lastid", 0755);

the image uploads and the directory is created but I am unable to view any images ??

Any help or pointers to this would be muchly appreciated,

How can I create a group locally on the live server and add the local apache user to that group and set permissions that will enable members to view their profile image.

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

I have uploaded a screen dump of how the permissions are set -

Any pointers would be very much appreciated -

There are a couple of things that might cause it but my best advise is to go look a the apache logs and see what the error is when they log in. They are notmally kept in: var/log/httpd/<site name>-access_log and /var/log/httpd/<site name>-error_log

One other question is who owns the directory the file is posted to and what are it's permissions?

How does the user login? (ssh, php script, html, etc.)

Hi, thanks for your poniters about the error logs -

The script is built in php - and all users login via a php script that has session data included.

I am a bit confused with your question ? Who owns the directory the file is posted to ??

I am unsure how to answer your question ?

When a new member joins the website, a folder is created using the last_id from the database ie. members/uploaded/999/imagename.jpg

I have connected via ssh and set the following permissions I have read about -

chown -R apache.apache /var/www/html/uploaded
chmod 770 /var/www/html/uploaded