I am a novice linux user (I am 15). I have run mandrake, fedora core and suse in the past because i liked thier configuration tools but now I am using slackware. I know how to install programs using RPM but how do you install .tgz or .tar.gz files ? Do you have to extract or compile them or something because i have little programming experience at all.

I would like to know how i can insatll these programs as i want to run some games under slackware.

My system is PIII Ighz, 10/100 ethernet LAN card, pretty generic soundcard, 2mb shared trident graphics adaptor, 128m RAM, DVD drive and 25gb HDD.

Any help would be appreviated

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

To install most compressed apps you would run these steps:
1. gunzip filename.tar.gz
2. tar -xvf filename.tar
3. cd filename/
4. ./configure
5. make && make install

Now, this will work for most cases. However, you need to make sure that any required files / libraries are installed and visible. The install docs for the program in question should help with that.

commented: Very Helpful and Quick +1

Thanks so much i only posted this about an hour ago. I will try this rigth away. Also, do you like slackware? I find it very fast and stable but it lacks the ease of use of redhat or suse. I am a beginner to linux so do can you reccomend any distros that are easy to use?

It says i need mono - what is this

Mono is a .NET programming alternative for Linux.

http://www.mono-project.com/Main_Page

But, there are tons of distros out there. If you like the ease of use of RedHat or SuSE, why not stick with those until you are more comfortable? Those still offer you just as much "under the hood" as Slackware can, but they hold your hand more, which can often keep you from wrecking your system config.

Slackware uses the *.tgz packages (instead of RPM). You can install them with

installpkg packagename.tgz

You can download prebuild Slack packages from http://www.linuxpackages.net