I've been running Linux for more than 20 years now, and have encountered only one malware. Some jerks called me on the telephone telling me that my computer was broken. I told them where to go, and somehow, they already knew my IP address, and did something to my hard drive that totally borked it.

Otherwise than that, seeing that Linux is free of cost, and comes quite complete with all applications needed to accomplish almost any tasks. Getting help is quite easy to obtain, and costs nothing. Updates are automatic, and don't need new versions to be installed once in a while. It's always up to date.

As far as my Windows, the latest episode, I had just turned on and started Windows, and got hit by ransomware. That was in spite of my using a proxy, and address masking. I just turned it off, and didn't bother to turn on Windows again.

Because of Windows so vulnerable because of it's popularity, it's always will be a target. Linux has much better protections, and not being as popular, it's not a favorite target for attacks. I never sweat as much as the Win users for being attacked. And my expenses to upkeep the Linux OS, are nil.

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

And I've been using Windows since 3.1 and have never been the victim of malware so it seems to me that you are just making the point that you don't know how to protect a Windows based system as opposed to "Linux is better than Windows, nyah nyah".

It may be true that Linux offers a smaller surface attack with the default configuration, but as RJ states, it depends a lot more on how you use the system. Lately I read about a user hit by a ransomware on Linux, he was running Mozilla Firefox as root, who knows why, and got infected through an extension of the browser (seemingly Adobe Flash).

Disclaimer: I use Linux since 2001 and abandoned Microsoft OS since 2004.