Hello all, I am working towards a Bachelors degree in computer science and I had planned to get the associates degree first so I would be able to get an entry level job to start gaining some experience. The problem I am having is that the school I am attending doesn't offer all the classes that I need to graduate by the end of next year(2013). So my question is do I take all the classes I can at this school to save money and then transfer at the end of next year and just continue on towards the Bachelors degree and try to find an entry level job that I can get without any degree or stay and finish the associates? Do I even need a degree to get an entry level job? I work in construction as a plumber and I wanted to make the change to a new career to start building an experience base, so I don't know which direction would be best and I appreciate any help you may have. Thank you for your time and if you need anymore information let me know.

Recommended Answers

All 10 Replies

do I take all the classes I can at this school to save money and then transfer at the end of next year and just continue on towards the Bachelors degree

Yes, it is the best way to save your money when you go through college. I did the same and it helped me a lot. Take as many classes that CAN be transferred to the college you want to go to or classes that are required to graduate. Do NOT take any classes that will not be transferred or required. However, it depends on which school you are going. I went to a local community college and I could transfer all classes I took from the school when I went to another local (public) university.

try to find an entry level job that I can get without any degree or stay and finish the associates