I am 42 year old male returning to college fall 2013 to get an AS degree. Previous work experience I have is electronic / computer bench technician. I am going to major in
1. c# application development - to be a programmer
2. Network Administration - network administrations or
3. Computer Engineering Technology - advanced computer electronics PCB technician

I am a quite, shy person and need to know what work environment would be best for a person who is quite and shy and requires the least amount of teamwork, more of an individual effort.

As far as working as a computer bench technician I had to talk only a little bit. if I didnt have to talk I didn't and worked more as an individual. This really didnt hurt my work because work required fixing a set number of computers more production based.

From what I've seen of entry level programmer when I was a mail clerk they didn't do to much talking. Just coding in a cubicle. This I can handle. Seems more of an individual effort which I have apptitude for. When is there a lot of cummunicating for programmers? I am sure there is a part of the job process that require some communicating.

From what Ive seen in Network Administration when I was a mail clerk they usually sit in a room together. When somthing need fixing one or a group whent to hotspot to fix problem. This seems like much more teamwork and interpersonal skills involved which is my weakness. Also Ive seen network admins work in a room with a glass window where everyone can walk by and stare at them. This would make me very self concious rather then compfortable in a cubicle.

Please give me more input, thanks for your time and expertise.

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Which require stronger social skills Programmer or Network Administration