Hi Guys,
I am looking for career advice. I am currently pursuing my associate's degree in computer science here in Texas. And I wanted to know if you guys know how people with associate's degrees get a job. As an international student, I would like one year of work before I transfer to a 4 year university to finish my bachelor's degree in software engineering or computer science.

Currently I am taking my basics but I have done some programming in SQL, PHP, Java, Python, C, HTML and CSS. But I took breaks in between my learning so I am starting to relearn java all over again. And in the process I hope to also re-learn CSS, JavaFX and SQL and build a real programs. I would like to use this knowledge as my foundation for also learning algorithms as I did not understand them when I was learning them the first time.

I know my question is all over the place but I wanted to know if I graduated as very good java programmer with CSS, Java FX, and SQL would that help me get a paid internship? I would really like to see how a real program is being built so I can use that knowledge to build my own software and would greatly help me when I am taking the core computer science class at the University.

Thank you alot and I hope my question makes sense!

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

I'll share that at the 2 year AS type college my son attended had a jobs office. That's where many start.

We do have a careers center but they were unable to help me with adequate advice

@OP, advice comes from your counselors. Jobs and internships from the jobs office. So if you are looking for a job, you don't usually get those at the careers center. Here you have counselors at the careers center and the internships are in the job's office.