Hi guys. I'm a highschool student taking computer science classes at dartmouth college. I was wondering if anyone had an research topics for me to look into. I know the general answer to this kind of thing is "whatever you like", but I really have no idea. Just some general topics would be really useful, or a place where I can find out what else is being done so that I can get some ideas.

X-mas vacation is coming up, and I'd love to find something to do (besides world of warcraft ;) )

thanks

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

research project: name the most popular sort algorithms and briefly describe how they work. Which algorithms are the fastest. there is tons of information on this topic because Ph.D.'s have done a great deal of search about it.

Thanks for the idea. Sounds kinda boring (since I'm not gonna find much of anything faster that nlgn :) ). I'll look into that. We did a shorter version of that on my final exam for my last CS class.

you might do something in networking -- how to set up and administer a network for your school's computers.

Or how to set up a web site which would include database. That should take the next couple years to complete.

That doesn't sound like research to me...

arh, how about you write a compiler? Make a compiler for the Scheme programming language. Write the compiler in Scheme, too. Think about what optimizations you can make. Especially when it comes to dealing with call-with-current-continuation.

Oh, and have the target language be the language Brainfuck. I don't know of anybody who's make a Scheme-to-Brainfuck compiler. :-) You will have to omit file operations from the language's standard library, only input/output, of course.

Make a version that reads the input Scheme code in stdin, and then writes the Brainfuck code to stdout. Then compile the compiler into Brainfuck code!

Brainfuck is spelled B R A I N * * * *, of course.