not sure if this the right place for this question so here goes. I am currently a Truck driver who had atleast 3 years of college work completed in Computer information systems. I have went back to school and want to change my major to Computer science because someon told me that the future jobs would be in Software engineering. Here are my questions.

Am i to old to get into the industry i am currently 38 and will be about 41 when i graduate with my BS?

Will i atleast be making $50,000 a year or will i need to start as an intern somewhere?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You will need to start at the bottom but it will be paid (low level coder, tech support, something like that)

Computer Information Systems or COmp/Sci are both equally employable in my eyes, but different companies like different ones, e.g some like CIS as you recognise the practical business aspect of systems instead of just the theory, wheres software development companies will want comp/sci as methods and coding are important.

Experience is key. If your into coding, get into an opensource project or something, it looks good on your CV.

I dont know how things are in the US but i will be going to university next year to study a computer-related degree and this is what ive been told (im in england)

commented: Is there any industry experience on which these comments are based? -1

wtf rashkil you gave me a bad rep. As is said,

I dont know how things are in the US but i will be going to university next year to study a computer-related degree and this is what ive been told (im in england)

I have heard thosr sort of things from 4 seperate universities now so i assume that it is the truth.

Member Avatar for iamthwee

Like jbennet I have never used programming professionally nor do I ever intend to. In fact the only times I program is after school to occasionally help people here.