I'm a recent college grad and I'm building a database for my family business, which is a writing instrument manufacturer. I learnt about the concepts of subtype and supertype, but my professor told us that he almost never use subtype and supertype, instead he would do something else just for performance reasons. Can any expert here please tell me how should I go about subtype and supertype. I'm totally lost as to how to actually implement it. Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hi monksorlo

what do you mean by subtype/supertype. Does this deal with the concept of Generalization/Specialization of extended entity relationship model? you may state an example.

If your professor suggest doing something else just for performance reasons at that very early design stage, you may change professors.

krs,
tesu

That professor is actually really good. Performance is kind of like his specialty, that's why he talks about it a lot.
What I mean by supertype and subtype is, for example, we have parts, there are two different kinds of parts. One is manufactured parts, the other one is purchased part. the purchased part table has a relation with the supplier table, while the manufactured part is a relaltion with equipment and such.

I have two questions
1. how do I write it out in sql
2. is there any way to achieve the same result while boosting performance

Thanks very much for helping!!

Hi monksorlo,

sorry, it has never been my intention to discredit your prof. My given statement sounds kind of sloppy.

Your subtype/supertype is exactly that what I meant with the extension of entity relationship model Generalization/Specialization. Supertype is equivalent to generalization and subtype to specialization.

As for your first question, there are several ways to map supertype/subtype of EERM into SQL of relational model. I will give you the common solution (what is indeed not that high-performance).