Hello guys

Actually I am new to the world of datawarehousing. In fact today is my third day.

Actually I am working in an organization where I have been given the responsibility of designing a datawarehouse.

The operational database is already being created and I have to post the past from OD to DW

Can u guys just give me a summary of what exactly I have to do(We may use Datawarehouse Builder for DW).How shall I go about designing my DW? What are the key things I need to consider?

Pls help me out

Thank You

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Sorry... I can't help... but if I could ask some details.... what is data warehousing?
Operational DB.... the DB a company uses during the day?
Warehouse DB.... somewhere you put backups?

Actually datawarehouse is nothing but a huge database(or just a database) with contains summarized information,historical data and is mainly used to create reports based on the data available.

OD is an operational database which is used to store transactional data(all the data intergity and data validation is done in OD). Once the data is consistent,valid it is send from operational db to datawarehouse.

In other words if you want to modify data, you can do that only in OD and not in DW

DW is mainly used to view data through reports or any other tool

Hope this information is enough.

well.... the cheating method would be to copy the structure from the OD DB, then alter the permissions....turn of edit, update and append, then generate the various reports....like I said, cheating!

The design approach relies on the original too! You need to know the names of every field and table, and probably most of the coding/script that is used as well, before you can alter settings... basically you'd just program/create a copy of the structure and then work through turning things on/off.

Two dfifferent approaches, yet both fdoing identical things.