I'm relatively new to MSSQL, and I'm trying to improve the DB write performance.

I have some legacy Java code that's generating about 1500 records every second. These 1400 records are generated by multiple Java threads. Right now, my approach is to create an SQL statement in each thread, to write each record into the MSSQL DB; this is proving to be terribly slow.

What are my options specific to MSSQL and Java? How do I insert so many records into the DB without seriously impacting performance?

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hi there.

Have you by chance attemped any type of batching? I'd queue up the record and try to batch them first, say 50,000 recs for each batch? See if that makes things any easier and let us know what you find.

EDIT: Also check your disk I/O. You can setup filegroups to ease this and distribute ldf/mdf across multiple drives. That is, if you need to keep your code as-is.

I understand that batch inserts could be faster; it's going to be a challenge to figure out the right "delay" while I cache records before insertion. My client applications need *near" real time read access to the data that's being inserted (the data is actually GPS data - latitude and longitude, amongst 50 fields - of 1500 vehicles worldwide, that are being tracked in real time).

Would it be faster/more efficient to do bulk inserts directly from my Java program, like so:

conn = getMySqlConnection();
        stmt = conn.createStatement(ResultSet.TYPE_SCROLL_SENSITIVE,
                                    ResultSet.CONCUR_UPDATABLE);
        conn.setAutoCommit(true);
        stmt.addBatch("INSERT INTO survey(id, name) VALUES('11', 'Alex')");
        stmt.addBatch("INSERT INTO survey(id, name) VALUES('22', 'Mary')");
        stmt.addBatch("INSERT INTO survey(id, name) VALUES('33', 'Bob')");
        stmt.executeBatch();