Good morning,

Firstly, let me say that I have zero experience with database, servers, etc. Now that I have prefaced this long question with that tidbit let me ask the most basic questions. What is the difference between MySQL and MS SQL? I think they do the same thing but I'm not sure of their differences.

Next and this requires some explanation so bare with me. Recently, I was elected to update my school club's website. I had said yes despite my little knowledge of HTML but I do understand the basics of programming. One of the tasks I was asked to look into automatically inserting people's registration into the gmail address book. Currently, one of the executives have to manually input all of the names.

1. Is it possible to have a script automatically input people's information into the google's address book?
2. Would using an SQL database useful / make my job easier? It's okay if it doesn't go into the address book. Just something that will hold people's information and the data is easy to retrieve.
3. Can you create a new database on my local machine and upload it to the internet?

Thanks for the help. Let me know if I was too vague or confusing.

Dmytri

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

What is the difference between MySQL and MS SQL? I think they do the same thing but I'm not sure of their differences.

MySQL is a relational database management system (RDBMS) that runs as a server providing multi-user access to a number of databases. It is named after developer Michael Widenius' daughter, My.The SQL phrase stands for Structured Query Language.
The MySQL development project has made its source code available under the terms of the GNU General Public License, as well as under a variety of proprietary agreements. MySQL was owned and sponsored by a single for-profit firm, the Swedish company MySQL AB, now owned by Oracle Corporation.