Hi
I'm a newbie in SQL and for scores whose credit is greater than 2, I want to select students with scores of 10 or more .Here is what I wrote and Im having errors(See table below):

SELECT Student,COUNT(Score)>=10 AS NumPasses
WHERE Credit>2 
GROUP BY Student

Student     Credit  Score
Tomy          3     11
Tomy          3     8
Tomy          2     13
Tomy          3     14
Dick          3     8
Dick          3     14
Dick          2     12
Dick          3     7
Hary          3     8
Hary          3     7
Hary          2     11
Hary          3     9

I want the query results to be as below

Student   NumberOfPasses  
    Tomy    2   
    Dick    1   
    Hary    0   

Can someone help
Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

You are using an expression in the SELECT. If you move that to a HAVING (or WHERE depending on your needs) clause, you will get the results you need.

Hi
I have Modified it thus

SELECT Student,COUNT(Score) AS NumberOfPasses 
FROM MyTable 
WHERE Score >=10
GROUP BY Student,Credit 
HAVING Credit >2

and gotten

Student NumberOfPasses
Tomy    2
Dick    1

But I want Hary (with 0 count) to be included in the result.
can you help?
thanks

You'll need to do that with a LEFT JOIN or a UNION. As it is now Hary is not in the results.

I'd be grateful if you help me. I am new to SQL and VB.net

Here's a hint.. Create a student table listing each student. Left join the tables and use the ISNULL function to replace the null value for Harry with a '0'.

The only way is separate this table into 2 tables and then use it.The first table contains user_id,user_name and second one contains user_id,score,credit.Now use join as suggested by pritaeas.

Select u.user_name,count(c.score) from table1 as t LEFT JOIN table2 as c GROUP BY u.user_name,c.score 
HAVING c.credit >2
Member Avatar for iamthwee

Doesn't dotnet come with a polished query builder (drag and connect tables?)