I'm brand new to SQL queries, hoping someone can help me set up this query.

I'm using phpList to manage my mailing list. All user defined attributes appear to be stored in a table called phplist_user_user_attribute. The structure of this table is:Field, Type
attributeid, int(11)
userid, int(11)
value, varchar(255)
attributeid 7 represents zipcodes
attributeid 16 refers to a boolean field referred to in another table as "Targeted", which I want to use for mailing list selections.

what I need to do is find every record with attributeid of 7 and a value of "68104" (for example), as:

SELECT * FROM `phplist_user_user_attribute` WHERE `attributeid`= 7 AND `value`= "68104"

this gives me a list of all userid's in this zip code.
then, for every userid found, I need to set attribute 16 'ON', as

UPDATE  `phplist_user_user_attribute`  SET  `value`  =  '' WHERE  `attributeid`  =16 AND  `userid`  =1;

(the above code sets the flag 'ON' for userid 1, but I can't figure out how to do it for every userid found in the previous query. Can I 'nest' these somehow?
I'm guessing this is pretty simple, I just need some help...

Thanks,
~kyle

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

Take this:

SELECT * FROM `phplist_user_user_attribute` WHERE `attributeid`= 7 AND `value`= "68104"

and make a comma separated list od the id's which you want to update

$sql = 'SELECT id FROM `phplist_user_user_attribute` WHERE `attributeid`= 7 AND `value`= "68104"';
$query = mysql_query($sql);
if mysql_num_rows($query) {
$ary = implode(',', mysql_fetch_assoc($query, MYSQL_NUM));
$update = "UPDATE  `phplist_user_user_attribute`  SET  `value`  =  '' WHERE  `attributeid`  ='16' AND  `userid` IN (".$ary.")";
mysql_query($update);
}

hope this helps.

Thanks a million. I'm not very skilled in PHP either, but let me see if I can figure this out, and then I'll post back.
~kyle

Okay, I'm still doing something wrong. I created a test php file and called it targetzip.php. it's coded as:

<?php