Greetings,

I'm a software development student and over the summer break I decided to make an Android app, figure the best way to improve as a programmer is to program. What I'm trying to do is search a website for information (i.e. search wikipedia for the release date of Superman or search ebay for the price of a nVidia Titan).

Now my problem is that to achieve this I need to use the websites search engine and then parse the result of that search and I honestly don't know where to start with that so any help or tips would be most welcome.

Thank you in advance,
Aterin

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

After re-reading my own post I realize I could be a bit more specific, I don't want to make an app that will search the entire web, only one that searches specific hardcoded websites.

So lets say I make an application for cinemas, the user inputs the name of the film and the cinema he wants and the application prints the times. So in the background the application would go to the cinemas webpage, use the webpages search engine, parse the page and print a list of times.

Many of the sites would be able to provide you with dedicated API that will be returning JSON object there is number of libraries that can help you to convert JSON to POJO (plain old java object) for example GSON or Jackson. In the worst case scenario that you have to actaully search through HTML you may want to use Jsoup library

Thank you peter_budo for your reply, indeed I have been looking through websites to find their API and some of them do (Amazon and Ebay for example), however how would I go around the ones that don't have an API? I had already considered using Jsoup to parse the website however after looking at the available methods I don't see how would I be able to submit a search and then parse the resulting page.