Hi,
I'm very new to Java and I have the following problem while compiling a source code:

g:\Java\Proj\baseline.java:1487: cannot find symbol
symbol  : constructor a(baseline)
                          k.setItemStateListener(new a(this));
                                                 ^

I've ran the compiler with the following flags:

javac -d g:\Java\Proj\compiled\ -classpath g:\Java\WTK2\wtklib\emptyapi g:\Java\Proj\baseline.java

The source files are composed by a file called "baseline.jad" and another called "a.jad" which are in the same folder. Now I've renamed both files with the ".java" extension.
I don't know much about java but I think that the error could be caused by wrong filename/folder of the "a.java" or if the "a.java" class must be imported/declareted in some way in the "baseline.java" source.
Many thanks in advance for any help. ;)

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

I'm not sure I undestand what your doing with the calll of new a(this)...Could you explain.

The way you have it, it's like you have an inner class called a, and your are trying to pass the whole class to it. Am I correct?

I'm not sure I undestand what your doing with the calll of new a(this)...Could you explain.

The way you have it, it's like you have an inner class called a, and your are trying to pass the whole class to it. Am I correct?

Probably it may sound ridiculous but neither I know what this call to "a" exactly is. :rolleyes: :lol:

I try to explain myself better:
I've the sourcecode of a Java app for mobile phones and I need to recompile it.
So I've downloaded the J2ME classes (microedition.midlet, etc.) and now I'm stuck with 8 compiling errors.

The sourcecode is composed by 8 files:
baseline.jad, a.jad, b.jad, c.jad, (...), g.jad

At the beginning "baseline.java" calls (imports?) each class with this code:

import java.util.Calendar;
import java.util.TimeZone;
import java.util.Enumeration;
import javax.microedition.midlet.MIDlet;