Greetings,

I'm quite new to C++ and i got a problem with my program. It seperates words in a string using the strtok() function. These words are then put into an array, which means the array can contain multiple same words. I'd like to copy different words from this array to a new one, in which there'd be only ONE of each word. I'm out of ideas, so any help would be much appriciated.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Do you need the first array or is it just an intermediate for the array of unique words? If it's the latter, you'd be better off using a suitable data structure that doesn't allow duplicates from the get go, like a std::set:

#include <algorithm>
#include <iostream>
#include <iterator>
#include <set>
#include <string>

int main()
{
  std::set<std::string> words;
  std::string word;

while ( std::cin>> word )
    words.insert ( word );

copy ( words.begin(), words.end(),
    std::ostream_iterator<std::string> ( std::cout, "\n" ) );
}

Thanks for your effort, but I'd kinda preffer a solution using arrays (if you happen to know one) or something as simple as them, since, like I said, I'm quite new to programming and therefore I don't understand most of your solution.

>I'd kinda preffer a solution using arrays (if you happen to know one)
I do happen to know one. In fact, I know several, but since you say you're new to programming, I'm reasonably sure that all of them would confuse you even more than my set example. Though this is a naive solution you might not have trouble with, but it's basically the worst possible solution:

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

int main()
{
  const int size = 10;

std::string words[size];
  std::string word;
  int total = 0;

while ( total < size && std::cin>> word )
    words[total++] = word;

std::string unique[size];
  int n = 0;

for ( int i = 0; i < total; i++ ) {
    int j;

/* Check for a duplicate */
    for ( j = 0; j < n; j++ ) {
      if ( words[i] == unique[j] )
        break;
    }